The ongoing goal of Hip-Hop Theater Festival (HHTF) is to elevate Hip-Hop theater into a widely recognized genre by empowering artists to develop new works and build coalitions with artists and institutions around the world.

Our Mission:
• Present live, professionally executed theater written by, and about the Hip-Hop generation
• Ignite dialogue and social change through performance arts
• Invigorate the theater in general by nurturing the creation of innovative work within the Hip-Hop aesthetic

For over a decade, Hip-Hop Theater Festival has showcased the stories, people, music, dance, and word of Hip-Hop live and on stage. All around the world HHTF is known as one of the most influential outlets showcasing Hip-Hop performing arts. Since its inception, HHTF has presented hundreds of artists including: Danny Hoch, Aya de Leon, Baba Israel, Kristina Wong, Marc Bamuthi Joseph, Liza Colon Zayas, Chad Boseman, Ase Dance Theater Collective, The Suicide Kings, Rha Goddess, Kris Diaz, Ben Snyder, Holly Bass, Jerry Quickley, Sarah Jones, Will Power, Alan Ket, Enrique PART ONE Torres, Jennifer Armas, olive Dance Theatre, Ishle Park, The Beatnuts, The Roots, Common, Kanye West, Rubberbandance Company, Kelly Zen-Yi Tsai, Rennie Harris Puremovement, Nilaja Sun, Frank Ejara, Eisa Davis, Niels Storm, Rabitsky, Psalmayen 24, Universes, J. Kyle Manzay and many, many more.

YouTube Preview Image



Clyde Valentin- Executive Director
Kamilah Forbes – Artistic Director
Daphne Farganis – Education Director
Michael Premo – Marketing and Program Associate
Sarah Sidman – Production Manager, Lighting Designer
Tiffany Vega – Administrative Coordinator

Hip-Hop Theater Festival is made possible through the generous support from The Nathan Cummings Foundation, the Ford Foundation, Curtis W. McGraw Foundation, Rockefeller Brothers Fund, Lambent Foundation, Hull Family Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, New York State Council on the Arts, NYC Department of Cultural Affairs, New York Council for the Humanities and individual supporters like you.

HHTF is a participant in the New Generations Program, funded by Doris Duke Charitable Trust/The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and administered by Theatre Communications Group, the national organization for American Theatre.

Board of Directors

Darren Sussman

Jennifer Ortega

Laura Hope

Malik Yoba

Lev Gelfer

Rachel P. Goldstein

Lumumba Mosquera

Constance Mortell

Chris Nagy



Danny Hoch


Chief Technorganzing & Online Marketing Firm: MVMT

Art Direction by Danny Skinz of Actual Creative

Marketing and Sponsorship by The Idea Botanica

Public Relations by Pitch Control PR

Photo Credits & other contributions are listed throughout the site.